Home Page About The Club Player Profiles News And Events Links And Resources Join The Club
NCG wins first TCL 7-A-Side cricket tournament-2009

Author: Prudhvi Reddy
Back to previous page
It was a perfect weekend with 70F to play cricket. Total four teams participated in the tournament. NCA & NCG with the highest points ended up into the finals on sunday.

NCA won the toss and decided to field first. NCA started of well with great bowling spells from aniket and good intelligent bowling from srimanth restricting NCG for 20 for 2 in 4 overs with Kalyan and prudhvi back in the hut cheaply, then it was upto Kishore who took a great initiative to step up the tempo and score quick fire 25 runs with intellectual hitting in gaps. Rohan started off well with rotating the strike to inform kishore and later increased the run rate by hitting boundaries in gaps. Sunny rotated the strike well, by getting rohan in strike when he was on song. Bimal came in at the downfall on sunny and scored fast runs on the offside to make the total to a decent 84 off ten overs. This score sounded really well in NCA's favor at the end of their bowling spells considering the 7 a side pattern in the tournament.

It was NCG's turn to Bowl, starting of with sunny who bowled a brilliant first over which costed a miser 3 runs of the first over which was the best first over and the second best over after aniket's 2 runs of the over in the same match. Rohan, Kishore and Mayank followed sunny to restrict NCA to a miser 32 of 4 overs and then came bimal's brilliant spell; in the first over Bimal took Arun stumped and minimizing score to 38 of 5 overs leaving behind 47 runs to score of just 5 overs with more then 9 runs to score per over. Kishore came in and bowled a tidy spell with Srimanth and Jaideep on strike and restricted NCA to 47 for 1 at the end of 6 overs with 38 runs to score of the last 4 overs. Bimal on song came into the attack with dangerous srimanth facing him, he did not have an answer to bimal's slider which came in sharply and dragged it onto the stumps to leave NCA in a misery. Rohan followed up Bimal with brilliant Inswingers restricting NCA to 60 for 3 at the end of 8 overs. Requiring 25 off 2 overs kishore turned to his most experienced player sunny who bowled shot pitch bowl first up to get Akshay who got a top edge to keeper. Sunny did the unexpected length and short pitch stuff to aniket and gave just 6 off the over leaving NCA to get 19 off the last over. Kalyan got the last over; who finished the dangerous aniket who lofted the ball straight to Mid-off where sunny took a decent running catch. Kalyan just gave 4 runs off the last over, which leaves NCA 14 runs behind at the end of the match. NCG had a well deserved victory at the end of season for the hard work they put in. Great End of the season victory for NCG to cherish for their efforts.

It was definitely a great dream run for NCG with a team of 3 members in a room who decided to form a team; to a team with a title this day. I am really happy to be a part of this team where you have every right to be what you are.

Thanks to all TCL board members and special thanks to Lyder Dyer for umpiring.

Tournament Participants:

Nashville Cricket Club (NCC)
Nashville Cricket Association (NCA)
Nashville Occasional Cricket Club (NOCC)
Nashville Cricket Group (NCG)

Tournament Arawrds:

Best Bowler - Lyder Dyer (Nashville Occasional Cricket Club)
Best Batsman - Srimanth Brindavanam (Nashville Cricket Association)
Player Of The Tournament - Srinivas Gunna (Nashville Cricket Association)
Player Of The Tournament - Kalyan Pendyala (Nashville Cricket Group)
Player Of The Finals - Bimal Shah (Nashville Cricket Group)
Runners Up - Srimanth Brindavanam (Nashville Cricket Association)
Champions - Kishore Karlapudi (Nashville Cricket Group)
©2021 Nashville Cricket Group